What is gratitude?

I am trying to figure out what gratitude really means and where it fits into my personal life. I know that sounds odd coming from an old woman who should certainly have a grasp on life.

So the practical side of me reaches for a definition. ” the quality of being thankful; readiness to show appreciation for and to return kindness:”

I say that I am grateful for many things, but if I am really grateful, according to the definition, that is not enough. I need to show the appreciation and return the kindness. I am either not truly grateful or simply lacking in follow through. Either way it is not what it should be in my life.

Perhaps it time for me to take a sincere gratitude journey complete with the actions that are required for true gratitude. I have a long way to go and I think it is an uphill path. However, at some point everyone has to look in the mirror and make a decision and today is that day for me.

I love music. It speaks to me in so many ways. I want to tell you about a friend of mine. She is an amazing woman. Her battle with cancer, changes with her family and simple stress would have been enough to make anyone hateful, bitter and mean. But guess what, she has more love, caring and understanding than anyone I know. She is not my only friend, and yet, there is no one who can replace her kind words and advice. I often image her walking beside me. I think she would like this song!

 

Leave a Reply

