Celebrate June 26th with me

I am a bit sentimental and June 26th is one of sentimental days. This year I am planning a little celebration. Since at least 50% of my life is online with work and such, I have decided to do it here. I hope you will all drop in and share the day.

There are many things that make this day one of my sentimental days. It is Global Forgiveness Day. The celebration was started by a group in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. It began in 1994 and I have  participated in some way every single year. Here are some of the things I’m planning to do the celebrate this portion of my day. First, I am going to forgive myself of all my foolish mistakes of the past year and start fresh. I am going to try and not repeat any of those mistakes this coming year.

Second I have ordered  26 helium balloons. I am going to attach a little plastic bag to them. Inside will be a note that explains that with each balloon I am forgiving myself and others today and attaching a location where they can enter their story if they choose. (It really fun to release balloons with purpose. I will truly have a name or experience I am letting go with each balloon.)

Third, on June 26th you will be able to download my book  “Forgiveness Begins Today” on Amazon, free. It my gift to you and I hope you will read it and let me know what you think.

June 26th is also my birthday and no one in my home will remember and that is fine. My sister has already given me a wonderful present that she made. She never forgets me. So the book is all about “presents” right? Mine to you.

I will make my own cake. It won’t have any candles. It will be a cake that my Mom used to make and I am sharing the recipe here. If you would like, you can make the cake and enjoy a piece with me.

Oatmeal Cake

1 ½  cup boiling water poured over 1 cup oats and one cup butter. Allow the butter to melt completely. Add two eggs, 1 cup brown sugar, I cup sugar, 1 ⅓ cup flour, 1 tsp nutmeg, ½ tsp salt,  1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp soda and 1 tsp vanilla. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

Spread 6 Tbs melted butter, 1 cup sugar, ¼ cup evaporated milk, 1 cup coconut, 1 cup chopped walnuts. Put it back in the oven for 5 minutes.

No need for frosting – you just baked it on.

(I am leaving the comments turned off until the 26th, I am hopeful you will celebrate with me then!)

Okay, comments are on! If you were able to forgive someone share your story! If you made the cakes, how did it turn out? If you simply want to wish me a Happy Birthday I will even take that.

 

Leave a Reply

