A trip to the general store

A very well meaning and wise mentor visited  my blog and said it was a complete mess. The topics were all over the place. What was the message I was trying to send? This was my response.

choctaw-bluff-305932__180

The reason I titled this blog Niches, Nooks and Crannies is because it implies that you get to come into my virtual home and live. It might not work for everyone, but I am inviting you into something like a general store,  and I have nothing to sell but stories and ideas.

There is a store in a little town, and mean little, called the Dell Mercantile, please click the link and take a look.  The post office is there. You can buy gas, groceries, gifts, shoes, socks, hunting and fishing licenses, and wine. Life is pretty good at Dell, Montana. There is a treasure in there meant just for you. You just have to find it.

I am not following the advice of the very wise mentor. I am inviting you into my home. My interests are diverse. My opinions are strong. I am humble enough to learn and change those opinions.

So welcome to my home. Feel free to search and see if you can find a treasure. Let me know what you think.

“Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.” ― Dr. Seuss.

32 thoughts on “A trip to the general store

  1. I love the way you write, it is real and just as life should be varied and colourful. I get from your prose that you are a fabulous, interesting and fun person to know.x

  2. awesome , there will always be someone that , thinks they know better . we own a second hand shop everyday i meet someone that knows what i need , what i do wrong , what i dont know , but at the end of the day i turn the key in the lock and we have stayed in business for over 35 years i took over a mom and pop store and didnt change a darn thing. what message are you trying to covey , lets see? i got that life has something to offer all of us if we are willing to look.

  3. hatlady1 So if you really know me, you know that I am incredibly touched and crying right now. Thank you so much. You don’t know what a difference this made in my little world today.

  4. I’m not sure there is a message, just a hope that this won’t be a lonely ride. I am kind of tired of being invisible. I am tired of hiding. I want it to be okay just to be “me” with all my flaws and hope that everyday I will improve. And I going going to hit the button before I change my mind about writing from my heart!

  5. Life’s been busy here on planet Fletcher recently so I haven’t had time to drop by and take a peak into your world. You write from the heart and your write about what is important to you. As far as I’m concerned those are the two most important considerations for a writer: you’re doing a great “job” and don’t let anyone let you otherwise 🙂

  6. Thanks for the encouragement. I know you have a huge project going. Did you every write the post about Thunderclap? Did I somehow miss it?

  7. Yeah, baby. You and me, writing what we know about; us. And how can writing from the heart ever be wrong? Stay fearless and open hearted, Cupcake! 🙂

  8. Trenna, blogging is primarily about authenticity. I have read through a number of your blogs and whilst i don’t now you personally, ‘consistent authenticity’ is the phrase i would use to describe your wtiting. The one thing that occurs when you’re you is that some readers will love it (me) and others won’t, just rememebr ‘Some will, Some wont, so what, next please. Keep up the good work

  9. I’m glad you decided to keep your original blog idea. I have been given “positive criticism” for the past couple of week as well. I only changed what i felt needed to be changed. However, what I learned was that, I got many different opinions on how to fix my blog, because, is all about perception and what a person like. We don’t all like the same-thing, therefore, some will like it, some wont. For this reason go with your heart and you will attract the right people for your blog that will understand and appreciate you. You can definitely count on me for blog support I always embrace uniqueness and all type of different beauty.

  10. Mike ~ it sounds like I am kind of black and white. Will I have convince some grays to find my little place here?

  11. Sacha,
    First thank you for taking the time and effort to comment. It is appreciated. I also hope that those who don’t agree with me can stop by and feel like they can express their thoughts in a safe and welcoming place. It is such a work in progress.

  12. Loving your blog, advice is just that, rules are meant to be broken – that’s what makes human beans unique and interesting – ps love the Dr Seuss quote

  13. Diana,
    Can not express how thankful I am that you took the time to stop by and comment. I read children’s books a lot. Maybe someday they will help me grow up.

  14. Hi, Trenna Sue,
    Just popped in and read a few posts. Yes, the mentor is right… IF you are writing to be found by Google and SEO and such like. But if it’s real people you are writing for … I think you’re doing a great job!
    Folks that want to follow a specific thread can do so using the tags or categories… those that like a mixture can click from one post to the next. Your readers can choose what to read … and I’m guessing we’re reading what you write because we enjoy it just the way it is!

  15. I am okay with that being right. I can not force anyone to come visit. I will write with my heart.

  16. I think the title of your blog clearly indicts the wonderful collection of tales you tell Trenna. I hope your mentor has been better at supporting other areas of your life!

  17. jfb57 ~
    It is all good. His intentions are fine. I just have anything I am selling. I am just reaching out.

  18. Love this post Trenna. I think people forget that we also have different motives for blogging. So the SEOs and the Business side is not always going to drive everyone’s. Some just do it as document of thoughts and ideas an if people love it and “get you” Awesome!

  19. Trenna, I love reading your posts. In fact, I linked to your post “What is a like” in one of my blog posts. Stay true to you. That’s what blogging is all about.

  20. Thank you. Finally someone who understands that there are those who just need to write their world.

Leave a Reply

