5 Signs that indicate a healthy self esteem

No one really wants a friend who has an over inflated ego. It is unpleasant and hard to deal with. The goal is to have healthy self esteem and a tolerance for others. Here are some simple signs that show you have a healthy self esteem.

child-817368__180

You are willing to take risks

Playing it safe is important when the risks are too high. However, growth and progress are only reached through change. Change is always a risk. If you have a healthy self esteem you embrace, adjust, change and take risks.

You are humble and teachable

It is important to be proud of your accomplishments.  There is a huge difference between being proud and being prideful. A good self image leaves plenty of room for learning new ideas, accepting constructive criticism, trying new ideas and exploring alternate theories. An open mind is a great tool.

You are willing to say “no”

Learning how to express yourself and say no at the appropriate times is a definite sign  of a confident person. It is simple. It is something that can be practiced.

“No, I won’t be able to help with that this time. I appreciate the offer.”

“That won’t work for me now. Perhaps I can be available for another project.”

It is important that you understand you do not have to apologize for saying no.

You set firm boundaries

If you are willing to set firm reasonable boundaries, others will will eventually stop pushing. Respect is given to those who expected it and act accordingly.

Look for these signs when you are choosing friends and leaders. A healthy self esteem is a great trait and it makes relationships much easier.

 

25 thoughts on “5 Signs that indicate a healthy self esteem

  1. I love this list. I am currently working on the taking more risks, it is a skill like any other and the payout certainly helps your self esteem!

  2. Some things to work on here, and I love how you made it so straightforward. I agree that even if I have some work to do on myself I really admire these traits in other people.

  3. Great post. Love the “humble & teachable” part. There is nothing more annoying than being around someone “who knows everything.”

  4. Pooh, Trenna, great points here. It’s amazing how many people either don’t say “no,” or they give a million reasons (ok, maybe three) why they can’t do something. I shared it, it was so awesome! 🙂

  5. catshapedcushion,
    Wouldn’t it be great if we could just snap our fingers and everything would be great! Wait, what would I have to complain about. LOL. I need to take my own advice.

  6. Lecia,
    I like to to think that I am talking to someone. Most of the time it is a quandary that I need to fix.

  7. Hey Tammy,
    There are two extremes that make me uncomfortable people who know everything and people who know nothing.

  8. Hey Liz,
    Thanks for sharing. I am getting pretty good at the no thing. Yesterday my husband said, “At least count to three before you say no.”

  9. Good post filled with all good points. Saying “no” is fairly easy for me. I’m learning to take risks. Enjoyable read!

  10. I have always been fearful of risks, but have embraced and adjusted, and things have worked out for the best. I’m still working at saying no in the workplace! I’m at the “yes, but…” stage!

Leave a Reply

