Zombie tag

Live life as though nobody is watching and express yourself as though everyone is listening.” ~ Nelson Mandela

stick-309861__180

I always enjoy a quote that you have to read twice to get the full impact. This was one of those quotes for me. It seems fitting to share the things I learned while contemplating the wisdom of this quote.

Recently I was playing with the younger grandkids. They were busy giving me instructions and calling me by name. Most of the time I am Trenna. If I don’t respond quick enough, I am Trenna Sue – if they are really not happy it is Trenna Sue Lulu Hiler. (Lulu is a whole different story.)

A very cheerful new neighbor came out to introduce herself. The boys introduced me “Trenna Sue Lulu Hiler”. I smiled and said “Nice to meet you.”

“Nicole Peterson, I moved in down the street last week. So how are you related?”

The older child, all of 7 said said “Let me handle this. She is married to my Grandpa and she is not related by blood to anyone who lives in this house. She doesn’t love us because she is related, she loves us because she wants to.”

Nicole was perplexed.

“Oh, she’s your step-grandma.”

“No”, he yelled much louder than necessary. “She is not a step anything we are her grandkids, and she is our Trenna. Can’t you tell by the way she plays with us?”

I tried to defuse the situation. “We have an unique family tree and we are glad we have each other. Tell me about your family.”

She said, “Everyone is married to who they are suppose to be married to.”

“That’s just great, we are playing Zombie Tag, would you like to join us?”

She didn’t want to.
Your actions show who you truly are, be careful with your words, because sometimes they come out wrong.

10 thoughts on “Zombie tag

  1. I am one of those people who have to watch their words. While they mean no harm, they are taken wrong many times if I don’t choose them carefully.

  2. Yeah, but to be loved because someone wants to love you… if that isn’t a perfect world, I don’t know what is. Your neighbor missed the boat…I mean Zombie Tag. Her loss. 🙂

  3. Love your story, especially your grandson’s words to your new neighbor! Thanks so much for sharing!

  4. Great story although I suspect your neighbour was a bit confused and just wasn’t sure how to respond appropriately or …maybe she has a dry sense of humour. I love the Nelson Mandela quote and yes, I had to read it twice for the full impact but I agree with Mike Gardner in that the best quote is your own – ‘She doesn’t love us because she is related, she loves us because she wants to.’ Fab!

Leave a Reply

