Assessing the situation

It is November 26th 2015, Thanksgiving Day. These are the simple facts.

  1. It is 18 degrees outside.
  2. The furnace is not working
  3. My brother-in-law is still in the hospital and it has been over a month.
  4. My father is home alone in another city and sick.

When you look at the facts, the day seems pretty bleak. However, life is not just about the facts. Life is about how we look at the facts and assess the situation. So this is my Thanksgiving post for all my friends and loved ones.

Winter seems to have arrived. It is a very good thing. We have had many voles and the hard freeze will help control the population. Thank goodness, that is one problem solved for our yard when spring comes.

I found the manual for the very old furnace that we have on line. I am going to read it today and maybe that will hold the key to get it working again. I have power and so I can plug in a little portable heater and get at least one room warmed up.  I have hot water so I can take a shower. I have someone to snuggle with and get warm.

My brother-in-law is experiencing a slow recovery. Still, whenever he wakes up and finds my sister now, he whispers “love you”. That seems to put things back in perspective. They have a big battle ahead, and yet what really matters is that they love each other and together they will handle whatever the outcome. They married and they meant what they said when they made their vows.

I’m sorry that Dad is home alone today and sick. I am not sure he really enjoys the time he spends with us. He often says he is in the way. I don’t feel that way, but if he truly feels that way perhaps home in where he is the most happy. I will call later and check on him. If things are worse it is only a 3 or 4 hour drive, if the weather is good. I can get there if he needs me.

I have so many things to be grateful for. Today we will go spend some time with our family and enjoy a good meal. (I understand they have heat, that is a bonus!) I have a sister and brother-in-law who have taught me what it really means to be married. I have my brother, my hero and protector right upstairs. (He is in bed staying warm.)

All in all, it’s going to be a pretty good day.

3 thoughts on “Assessing the situation

  1. Happy Thanksgiving, my friend! May we both find more blessings than we thought possible throughout the day. Need some extra blankets? It’s a bonus that you found instructions you can read. 😉 Don’t blow yourself up, ok? Hug!

  2. I am currently searching for something called the re-set button. So far it seems pretty well hidden. At least the sun is up now.

Leave a Reply

